What To Consider Before Paying A North Carolina Speeding Ticket

1. A speeding conviction will usually result in insurance points and a higher premium.

Except in a limited number of cases, your insurance company is likely to charge points for your speeding conviction that will result in a higher premium. Points assessed by insurance companies for common speeding violations are as follows:

OffenseInsurance Points
Speeding in excess of 75 mph when the speed limit is less than 70 mph (e.g., 76 in a 65 mph zone)4
Speeding in excess of 80 mph when the speed limit is 70 mph or greater (e.g., 81 in a 70 mph zone)4
Speeding more than 10 mph over the speed limit and in excess of 55 mph but less than 76 mph (e.g., 66 in a 55 mph zone)2
Speeding 10 mph or less in excess of speed limit of 55 mph or greater (e.g., 64 in a 55 mph or 74 in a 65 mph zone)2
Speeding 10 mph or less in excess of speed limit of less than 55 mph (e.g., 34 in a 45 mph zone)1

The chart below shows how the accumulation of insurance points can result in higher premiums:

Points% of Rate IncreaseCost if Basic Rate is $300Points% of Rate IncreaseCost if Basic Rate is $300
125%$3757160%$780
245%$4358190%$870
360%$4809225%$975
480%$54010260%$1,080
5105%$61511300%$1,200
6130%$69012340%$1,320

(Both of the preceding charts come directly from a brochure entitled "It Pays to be a Safe Driver" published by the North Carolina Department of Insurance. For a PDF version of this brochure click here.)

2. A speeding conviction will result in driver's license points.

In addition to insurance points, a speeding conviction will result in assignment of points to your record by the North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles. The accumulation of too many driver's license points in a 12 month period can result in suspension of your driving privileges. The North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles assigns points as follows:

OffenseDMV Points
Speeding in Excess of 55 mph3
Speeding in a School Zone3
All Other Moving Violations2

3. A conviction for speeding more than 15 mph over the limit and at a speed greater than 55 mph for example, 71 mph in a 55 mph zone will result in at least a 30-day suspension of your driving privilege.

4. A second conviction for speeding more than 15 mph over the limit and at a speed greater than 55 mph will result in a 60-day suspension.

5. In addition to the foregoing suspensions, the North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles can suspend your privilege to drive for the following:

  • Two convictions for speeding over 55 mph in a 12-month period;
  • One conviction for driving over 55 mph and one conviction of reckless driving in a 12-month period; and/or
  • A conviction for speeding 75 mph or more.

Contact An Experienced Traffic Violations Lawyer

For a free initial consultation with an attorney, contact The Law Offices of Lyndon R. Helton, PLLC, in Hickory by calling 828-848-8776.